Let’s turn off that tap people – Blog Action Day 2010

running tap

My blog has been something of a desert lately. So with it being Blog Action Day, I thought it would be good idea to refresh BasicCraft.

This years’s Blog Action Day theme is Water. It’s a theme that should speak to us all or as the BAD blog puts it:

Water moves beyond just a human rights issue. It’s an environmental issue, an animal welfare issue, a sustainability issue. Water is a global issue, deserving a global conversation.

Conversation, yes, but also action.

In my office we have toilets (for the time being these haven’t been cutback). One toilet has a stiff hot water tap; it does close but no one ever does it properly. They just wash and go.

This just tap streams away. I turn it off when I see it but each time I go back it’s been left again. Endlessly.

So today – with a well-positioned but cheaply designed sign – I am challenging my colleagues to think more about the water they use and the water they don’t .

And that dialogue is already flowing.

tap sign

3 thoughts on “Let’s turn off that tap people – Blog Action Day 2010

  1. By way of update, my cheapo sign has now been taken down but the tap has been well behaved since. Either the message has sunk in or I’ve embarrassed estates maintenance into action.

Leave a Reply

